AMTROL, Inc Complaint

AMTROL, Inc Complaint

ADVERTISEMENT

AMTROL Boilermate, indrect-fired hot water tanks - Boilermate, Indirect-Fired Hot Water Tank


I bought my 1st AMTROL Boilermate indirect fired hot water tank (41 gallon Classic) 6/03 when I had a new furnace installed. With a Lifetime warranty on the Boilermate no less. It lasted 2 1/2 years before it began to leak badly-that's when I discovered parts and labor were not covered-it was December in Alaska and I needed hot water quick, so I paid. The 2nd lasted 1 1/2 years and that's when I discovered the original installer had gone out of business overnight. On this occasion another plumber directed me to the local AMTROL distributor-who was said to be humbled by all the customers whose tanks were failing and paid with coupons issued by AMTROL to be paid directly to the plumbing and heating companies-who came right out to the house, okayed a replacement tank, picked up the labor costs, but I was still stuck with $100 in parts. The 3rd tank lasted just 363 days-this time, no labor was picked up by the distributor this time, but a call to AMTROL got me an upgrade to a 60 gallon commercial tank, all for $858 for parts and labor. Needless to say, I am not happy with all this outlay of cash, which is over $3000 (total cash outlay for original tank plus install and for the parts and labor for the next 3 replacement tanks) for a supposedly high quality 41 gallon hot water heater that has leaked and failed, each of the 3 times it was put in. I'm on my 4th tank in 5 years. It's seems to be a faulty product yet it continues to be on the market. feel that there is something wrong with the tank design that causes it to leak. After all, those 3 of mine leaked. The distributor told me last year that some of his customers' tanks failed in 6-8 months. And that I was lucky that my tanks leaked out of the bottom-some customers had pinhole leaks up on the side near the top that suddenly shot a stream of hot water way across the room, under pressure. And damages weren't covered either. I'm currently dealing with a AMTROL manager at the Rhode Island Company Headquarters to hopefully get reimbursed for the labor charges for the most recent install. Of course, it helped that our local NBC TV affiliate did a consumer report on my 3 bad tanks last week-the reporter did call AMTROL for a statement and did get a manager from a local plumbing store to speak on camera. So, I would like to hear from other people with similar problems with the Boilermate tank-it seems that the redesign that was done in 2000 involves using 2 different metals which eventually causes tank corrosion and leaks. Tanks made before 2000 last 10, 12, 15 years. Made after that? Failure within as little as 6 months-and the company now only gives a 5 year Warranty on those 41 gallon tanks. That should tell you something right there. AMTROL is a world wide company and they make lots of different tank type products-but how can a company continue to put a product out there with such a terrible failure rate? And not be held accountable??


Share This Review:



         


Is this your Business? Claim Your Business Free and reply to this customer

CONTACT THIS BUSINESS

Post a reply for this review COMMENT
WRITE to AMTROL, Inc
SUBMIT a ticket
for AMTROL, Inc
WATCH videos
for AMTROL, Inc
More AMTROL, Inc Reviews and Complaints MORE reviews and complaints
for AMTROL, Inc

BUSINESSES REPLY HERE

Claim this company BUSINESSES: CLAIM YOUR BUSINESS NAME FREE
Respond to this review BUSINESSES: REPLY TO THIS CUSTOMER NOW
Link to MeasuredUp BUSINESSES: Free Customer Service Excellence Badge
Take the pledge BUSINESSES: Free Customer Service Pledge Badge
Upgrade Account BUSINESSES: Build your customer service online reputation


ADVERTISEMENT


Comments


kkdman says: (7 months ago)
 0
Had my first Amtrol WH41 installed about 17 years ago, after about 5-6 years it began to leak through the bottom. Since it had a lifetime warranty they replaced it but I had to pay the $300 installation costs. About 5-6 years the same thing happened and, once again, they replaced it and I paid the $300 installation costs. This second tank lasted about three years and the same thing happened again. This time they sent a rep out to check things out, paid for the new tank and gave me $300 to cover the installation costs. It's now exactly two years later and the tank is leaking. I called them up and they are now saying the warranty is only for five years and it's cumulative so the last tank lasted 3 years, the current tank 2 years so your out of warranty. Thanks for your business.



checkeye says: (1 year ago)
 0
i have installed lots of boilermates 90 per cent have been under warenty every one i install now have unions the old ones i installed in th 90s are sill out there but the ones since 2000 don.t last more than 2 yrs some only 8 or 10 months felt guilty charging labor can not absorbe these costs any more



amarie says: (1 year ago)
 0
Came home tonight to a leak out of the side of our Boilermaker. Can't believe all this stuff I'm reading about it. Will definitely try to go with another brand when they replace it. Is there anyway to contact the company if its been a few years?



PSULions says: (2 years ago)
 0
I'm in the same boat as you on these Boilermates. We need a good Class Action Suit. Their product is shit.



yianni513 says: (3 years ago)
 0
I had and still have the same problem. First tank 41 gallon tank purchased in 2008...had a pin hole leak at the top (pressure relief valve) and water leaking from the gasket attached to the base plate on the bottom of the boiler.
The second tank (purchased in Dec 2009) started leaking two weeks ago...removed the bottom plate and checked the gasket; it seemed OK.
Why after 22 months did it start to leak...I believe that this is a problem with Amtrol using two DIFFERENT metals that over time warped out of spec.
You are right that Amtrol will not pay for the labor which in my case costs $750 for the first boiler and $550 for the second (plumber applied a high temp gasket sealer that lasted three days in an attempt to fix the problem).
Does any one else manufature a similar boiler mate?
good luck to all,
John



bconvers says: (3 years ago)
 0
I would like to point out that the majority of you complaining about leaking may have not checked your anode rod. it needs to be replaced every 4-6 years, which is less expensive than buying a new water heater every 4-6 years. no product is maintenance free, even if advertised as such.



whatishappening says: (4 years ago)
 0
Can anyone describe the difference between the boilermate wh-7z and the wh-41z? The wh-7z is leaking and have been told the warranty replacement will be a wh-41z. I can't figure out what the differences are besides a limited lifetime warranty and 5 year transferable warranty.



tunatim says: (4 years ago)
 0
I installed a Boilermate 2 years ago as the other hotwater heaters I used would fail in 3 to 4 years. The lifetime warrenty was what caught my attention. Well, now the Boilermate is leaking badly out the bottom. I wonder whose lifetime it was warrented for? I will not buy another Boilermate, but need something that will last. Any suggestions?



vkelly says: (4 years ago)
 0
worst hot water heating system I ever bought, my plumber sold me on these heater and I installed them im my own home and a rental property, I have had my water heater replace because of a leak after 4 years, but I have been replacing the controler every year in the rental property, and giving serious thought to ripping them out and going with a sears hot water heater, I think I woud be saving money in the long run by getting rid of them



SteveB says: (4 years ago)
 0
Same issues with me. I am on my 4th replacement tank and I now believe that there will be no relief to this headache. I bought this unit because I trusted AMTROL, but after all of these failures it time for them to "BITE the BULLET" and replace these with another design that is not going to leak in a matter of a few years. I have seen many Amtrol BoilerMates sitting at the curb waiting for the trash truck. Contractors on Long Island no longer will install the units and supply houses are no longer stocking this product line of Amtrol. When I attempted to arrange for another WH7 the supply house told me that there is a $ 100.00 fee for handeling.



jecky says: (4 years ago)
 0
I have had a very similar experience and will be installing my third tank in the last four years real soon. I would like to get a different product that will not break after one year of service. If I provided the same sort of faulty product as Amtrol does with this gem, I would surely be bankrupt by now....



daves says: (4 years ago)
 0
I built a new house in 1989 and installed a new boiler and Boilermate 41 in 1990. The Boilermate has worked better than
I ever expected and has never given me a problem. My boiler needs replacing, and I was going to install a new Boilermate because of the age. It sounds like I should stay away from the
units. It is sad to see such a good product become such a poor
one.



daves says: (4 years ago)
 0
I built a new house in 1989 and installed a new boiler and Boilermate 41 in 1990. The Boilermate has worked better than
I ever expected and has never given me a problem. My boiler needs replacing, and I was going to install a new Boilermate because of the age. It sounds like I should stay away from the
units. It is sad to see such a good product become such a poor
one.



daves says: (4 years ago)
 0
I built a new house in 1989 and installed a new boiler and Boilermate 41 in 1990. The Boilermate has worked better than
I ever expected and has never given me a problem. My boiler needs replacing, and I was going to install a new Boilermate because of the age. It sounds like I should stay away from the
units. It is sad to see such a good product become such a poor
one.



YEAH0529 says: (5 years ago)
 0
Also have the same problem (leaking) Amtrol Boiler Mate Classic Series Indirect-Fired Water Heater Model WH-7l 41 gallon 2nd unit just failed - leaking- plumber to arrive here today to view. Insane! Just put in whole new system in 2002 and had to replace the water heater in 2007! And now all over again. Please let me know how you got through all this and any help would be appreciated. Thanks.



AllTemp says: (5 years ago)
 0
I own an HVAC company and installed a WH-7 tank in my house in 1992. Have never had a problem with it. Where are these bad tanks leaking? If installed improperly they will fail.

The most popular indirect hot water heater is Mega-Stor. They have an all stainless tank and coil.



AllTemp says: (5 years ago)
 0
I'm the owner of a HVAC company and installed my own Boilermate WH-7 41 gallon tank in 1991 and have never had a problem.

Where on the tank are these leaks forming? If the tank is not installed properly they can leak.

Mega-Stor is the preferred brand now. All Stainless tank and heat exchanger.



vitskari says: (5 years ago)
 0
Original AMTROL WH-7Z CLASSIC series 41 gallon indirect water heater lasted from 1990-2005. In 2005 another AMTROL 41 gallon WH-7Z model was used to replace it on warranty (no cost), but labor was not included. That was $527 for a plumber to come out install the new one. January 2, 2010, water is seeping out of the bottom of the warranty replacement water heater at less than five years time. "Lifetime" warranty indeed.



AlaskaMUtley says: (5 years ago)
 0
I have a BoilerMate Classic as well. We moved into the house in Sept 2003. I've just discovered a leak in my tank. An internet check of the warranty puts our tank as new in August 2001. A close inspection also reveals that this is the 2nd leak to be fixed. I'm of the opinion that this tank design leaves a lot to be desired. I will not buy an Amtrol again.



LhasaRescuer says: (5 years ago)
 0
We just had the third 80 gal Boiler Mate tank go bad, and it has just been 1 year since replacement. When our local technician called Amtrol, he was told that our previous tanks were rusted out and that the issue was probably the quality of the water. These tanks are suppose to have copper tubing -- the entire house is copper pipes and we have not seen them leak. We are going to take a water sample to be tested by a lab in Altoona PA to be able to refute their claim.

It is apparent that the Amtrol Boiler mates are inferior quality and causing more problems for consumers. Sounds like a small claims is in order to be able to purchase a quality product.



READYTOEXPLODE says: (5 years ago)
 0
I bought Amtrol Classic 41 in November 07. It is now leaking. I was told by the company that installed it he will be back on Monday to install a new one, but we will have to pay the 3 hours labor. Of, course he did not tell us what his hourly rate is. I will be contacting Amtrol about this problem. All depends on what they say if we have an other Amtrol installed or go with a company we can trust.



CoachJim says: (5 years ago)
 0
I have a "classic" 41 boilermate since November, 2000. Everything was fine until last year, now it does not recover and can't use my jacuzzi. Not happy with Boilermate . . . replacing.



dcamp7123 says: (6 years ago)
 0
Have had a 41 gal. boilermate since 2001. No problems with leaks, however, began running out of hot water after consecutive showers two years ago. That never used to happen. The plumber said that the boilermate coils within the tank may be "fouled". He said to replace the tank with something other than a boilermate because of multiple problems the tanks were having. He called them "junk" and gave me a list of better tank manufacturers. I am going to live with the problem for now and then consider a replacement with one of the other tanks he suggested.



MONTANA says: (6 years ago)
 0
dito just noticed a tank failure 01-17-2009 41 gallon boilermate classic installed in 1996, just failed pinhole leaks in several places moisture absorbed so we didnt notice ,no work done yet but im certain well give that craptime warranty a call



Freediver says: (6 years ago)
 0
I'm also in Anchorage, Alaska. My original Boilermate 41 gallon was also installed in June of 2003. My experience has been identical to that of Harleyjo in that my Boilermate is also about to be replaced for the 4th time. The first two replacements were done at no charge to me. I'm currently working with Ken at Amtrol in Rhode Island on this issue. I've asked that my tank be replaced with a 60 gallon unit at no cost to me. I'll update this post when I know if Amtrol is going to agree to that.




login with Facebook and share your reviews

More AMTROL, Inc reviews


Similar reviews


[Top]

Bookmark/Share this page

This page is under construction.
It will be up and running soon with new features to make you smile more.
Thanks,
The MeasuredUp Team